Light Rigid licence (LR)

Find out how to upgrade to a Light Rigid (LR class) heavy vehicle licence after you have held your car (C class) licence for 12 months.

You will need a DoTDirect account to book, swap or cancel your practical driving assessment. Register for DoTDirect today.

  Light Rigid (LR class) heavy vehicle licence

Light Rigid (LR class) heavy vehicle heavy vehicle licences allow you to drive vehicles with either:

  • Gross vehicle mass (GVM) between 4,500 to 8,000 kg.
  • Capacity for more than 12 passengers (including the driver).

You will also be allowed to tow a trailer with a maximum GVM equal to one of the following:

  • Maximum loaded mass of a trailer recommended by the manufacturer of the motor vehicle.
  • Maximum loaded mass specified in the Road Traffic (Vehicles) Regulations 2014 (WA).

For more information, please go to the National Transport Commission's load restraint guide.

In order to gain an LR class licence, you must have held a Car (C class) licence for a minimum of 12 months.

Opens in a new window National Transport Commission (NTC): Load restraint guide
Opens in a new window Department of Justice: Road Traffic (Vehicles) Regulations 2014

  Step 1:Learn to drive (LR class)

Once you have been issued your C class driver's licence, you can begin to learn to drive Light Rigid (LR class) heavy vehicles.

A learner's permit is not required, however, you must be accompanied by a supervisor who is either:

  • A licensed driving instructor holding an LR or higher class driver's licence, or
  • A person who has held a current LR driver's licence for at least 4 years.

As a learner driver, you must also display L plates and comply with any other conditions as required.

Visit the Learn to drive/ride page for more information on what rules you are subject to as a novice rider.

Please download the printable L plates.

  Step 2:Complete an application (Form DLA1)

Once you have held your C class licence for 12 months you can apply to upgrade your licence to an LR class.

Please download and complete the form.

  Step 3:Provide proof of identity

You will be required to submit sufficient proof of your identity for the application.

Please go to Proof of identity for more information.

  Step 4:Submit the application in person (Form DLA1)

Applications for a Western Australian driver's licence must be submitted in person at a Driver and Vehicle Services centre or regional agent.

You will need to provide:

  • Completed vehicle licence application form DLA1.
  • Proof of identity documents.
  • Required fees.


Applications cannot be submitted by post.

  Step 5:Undertake an eyesight test: Light Rigid (LR class)

All applicants will be required to take the eye test when applying for a driver's licence.

This will be conducted at the Driver and Vehicle Services centre or regional agent when you apply for your licence. If you use any visual aids to pass the eyesight test, your licence will be endorsed to show that you must wear those aids when driving.

  Step 6:Pass the Practical Driving Assessment: Light Rigid (LR class)

Before your licence can be issued, you will need to take a Practical Driving Assessment (PDA) in an LR class vehicle.

Visit the Practical Driving Assessment (PDA) page for information on booking your PDA and what you need on the day.

What happens if I fail the PDA?

If you fail the PDA, you will need to retake the assessment after a minimum of seven calendar days.

This will allow you more time to improve your practical driving skills and therefore achieve the required driving standard. There are no exemptions to this waiting period.

You will be required to pay another Practical Driving Assessment fee.

  Step 7:Issue of licence: Light Rigid licence (LR class)

Once you have passed your PDA, your licence record will be updated to show that you are now authorised to drive LR class heavy vehicles.

However, a new driver's licence card will only be issued when you renew your current licence. You may wish to order a replacement licence that will reflect your updated vehicle class.

Provisional and restricted licences

If you have a provisional licence, you will still have the same provisional status while driving an LR class heavy vehicle. If your existing vehicle licence is a full licence, your LR class licence will also be a full licence. Visit Get a provisional licence for more information.

If you have a licence with a restriction to automatic transmission and you complete the PDA in a vehicle of a higher class fitted with a manual transmission, the restriction will be removed and only the higher class will show on your licence.

Heavy vehicles

If you complete the PDA in a heavy vehicle fitted with a synchromesh transmission you won’t be permitted to drive heavy vehicles fitted with a non-synchromesh gearbox. A synchromesh transmission is a type of manual gearbox found in modern cars and trucks which uses synchronising collars to aid the driver in making smooth gear changes.

A non-synchromesh transmission (such as a ranger or crash box) does not use these collars, and timing of a gear change has to be done manually by the driver usually using a double de-clutch technique. If you complete the PDA in a heavy vehicle of a higher class fitted with a non-synchromesh transmission you can drive vehicles (except motorcycles) fitted with automatic or manual gearboxes of either type.


To remove any automatic restriction from a motorcycle (R-E or R class) you would need to pass a PDA on a motorcycle fitted with a manual transmission.

  Heavy vehicle competency standard

The vehicle competency standards aim to produce safer drivers and underpin the driver training and licensing system in Western Australia.

The heavy vehicle standards are used by assessors to determine if learner drivers are competent in operating heavy vehicles. It is not a set of competencies for learner drivers, but should be used as a guide for driving instructors.

Please download the standard.

Page last updated: Wed Jun 28 2023 3:16:35 PM